Subject- Geography
Class -4
Topic- Domains of the Earth

Synopsis

There are four domains that exist on the earth, they are- Lithosphere, Hydrosphere, Atmosphere and Biosphere. The domain that has land is called lithosphere this includes the seven continents. The domain that has water is called hydrosphere this includes the five oceans. The domain that has air is called atmosphere. The domain that has living organisms is called biosphere.

Do the following exercises in your Geography(interleaf) exercise book.

- 1. Define the following:
- a. Continent
- b. Lithosphere
- c. Hydrosphere
- d. Ocean
- 2. Name them:
- a. The largest continent.
- b. This continent is covered with ice.
- c. The smallest continent.
- d. The smallest and the shallowest ocean.
- 3. Answer the following:
- a. How many domains are there on Earth?
- b. Name the seven continents.
- c. Name the five oceans.
- d. What is biosphere?
- 4. Draw figure 6.1 (The four domains of the Earth) from the textbook.
- 5. Do the following exercises from your textbook (page 48):
- a. Write one word answers
- b. Write true or false.