Class VIII

History and Civics

Synopsis

-India has a federal system of government which means the division of power is between the centre and the states

-There are three branches of the government

Legislature - makes laws

Executive enforces laws

Judiciary interprets laws

- The powers have been divide between the union and state in three lists

Union list- the Centre makes the laws on matters of national importance

State list- the state makes the laws on state subjects like public order, water irrigation etc

Concurrent list- where both the centre and state can make laws on. If there is dispute between the two the union law has the upper hand

-The constitution of India provides for a parliamentary system of democracy.

There are two houses of parliament

- -Lol Sabha and the Rajya Sabha.
- -The president is an integral part of this system. without his signature no bill in the parliament is passed.

Lok Sabha

It has 552 members. 530 elected from states. And 20 from the Union Territories

The seats are allotted based on the respective population of the state.

The president nominated 2 members from the Anglo Indian community if they are inadequately represented.

Term:

The members are elected for a term of 5 years through the General elections.

The country is divided into constituencies.

Every adult citizen has the right to vote.

People cast their vote through secret ballot.

There are certain eligibility criteria for the candidates

Being a citizen of India

Not being of unsound mind or an undischarged insolvent

After the election the majority party forms the government while the other parties form the opposition.

Speaker is the presiding officer of the Lok Sabha.

Rajya Sabha or the council of state.

Maximum of 250 members. 238 members represent the state and the union territories.

President nominates 12 members who are distinguished themselves in the fields of art, literature, science and social service.

The vice president is the ex officio chairperson of the Rajya Sabha.

Term

Each member is elected for a 6 year term

1/3rd members retire every 2nd year.

Functions:

Making law

A law is first introduced as a bill which is a draft proposal of a law. When it is passed in both the houses it is called an act.

kinds of bills - Money bill and a non money bill, constitutional amendment bill.

Financial control.

Control over executive

Judicial function.

Constituent function

An organ of information

Worksheet:

Give meanings:

- 1. impeachment
- 2. amend
- 3.ex-officio

Match the following:

1. rajya sabha a. interprets law

2. lok sabha b. a draft proposal of a law

3.bill c. union government makes law

4.union list d.12 members nominated

5. judiciary e. lower house

Answer the following:

- 1. Mention 3 organs of the government?
- 2. What does the parliament consist of?

- 3. Mention two eligibility criteria for candidates contesting for lok sabha elections?
- 4. What is a coalition?
- 5. List three functions of the parliament.

Do exercises A, B, D (1,5)